Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me get this right

Help me get this right

Let me start by saying I've never done this before....how many times have you heard that?

I just picked up a new project, it's a 48 Chevy car that the owner was restoring when he passed away. It doesn't have much left to be finished and I'm wanting to do as much of it myself as possible. One of the things it needs is to have the paint job finished. It was painted about a year ago but was never color sanded or touched after that in any way. There are a couple runs in the clear coat I will need to sand out and plan on wet sanding the whole car while I'm at it to get a smooth finish.

After a lot of reading I placed an order last night and want to get your opinions on if I got everything needed or not. First off, here is the car I'm working with...

You can see the orange peel and runs in the trunk here...

-I started the order with the TORQ kit that comes with the orange, white, blue, black, and red pads, cleaner spray, and towels
    -I added 2 more orange and 1 more white pads
    -16 oz kit with V32, 34, 36, and 38
    -JetSeal sealant (accidentally grabbed the 4oz, I hope this is enough)
    -50/50 wax (free because I spent over $300...WIN!)
    -Cleaning brush for pads
    -Black hand applicator pad
    -Happy ending microfiber towel

My plan is after wet sanding to hit the car with the orange pad and V36 and see how that works and move up to V34 if it's needed. I will be wet sanding to either 2k or 3k grit, not sure yet.
    Switch off to the white pad and V38
    Switch to the black or red pad and JetSeal it
    Hand wax with the 50/50 carnuba and buff with the happy ending towels

Am I missing anything?

Wow, you are lucky! That looks like a fun project.

First, you need a paint thickness gauge. Don't just start sanding without knowing how much you have to work with.

Next you will need "towels"- plural.