PDA

View Full Version : Rotary + Microfibre for Good Paint?

mitch625
03-04-2015, 03:37 AM
Hi,

I have had my White BMW and Touareg for a year now from new and I have maintained the vehicles to very high standard meaning there are very minimal scratches and swirl marks are not very apparent.

In a month or so, I plan on doing a complete detail ready for the summer. I wish to polish both cars to get the best possible shine as well as do the usual prep and protection.

From what I understand I'll probably only need to do a 1 step polish using V36. However I have a few questions about my currently setup.

I currently own an orbital polisher which I currently use for the gel coat on the boat once a year, however I've had very little experience with it on softer / less forgiving paintwork. i'm really worried about creating holograms or more damage to my paint.

I also have a new CG Black Optics Microfibre Polishing Pad. Will this combination be all I need?

Rotary + Black Optics + V36? I heard somewhere that microfibre pads shouldn't be used on rotary machines?

Thanks in advance guys,

Darryl

http://i.imgur.com/dQUH6W5l.jpg

MattMan
03-04-2015, 08:57 AM
You cannot use Microfiber Pads on rotary polishers; you can only use Microfiber on Dual Action polishers.

As far as how many steps you'll need to do on your vehicles, you need to polish a test spot and figure out what works best for your cars. Every car has 100% different paint, and what works for one car may not work for another.

We recommend starting with a less aggressive method, then go harder from there. We normally recommend starting with V36 on an Orange Hex-Logic pad, and go from there.

I actually had a lot of success when I polished a similar white BMW with a Green Hex-Logic pad and V36. The one pass restored brilliant white finish with depth and gloss quickly and easily, but your results may vary.

Two3zz
03-04-2015, 09:36 AM