PDA

View Full Version : Problem polishing 2002 Camaro SS

82cdtrooper
12-11-2014, 04:14 PM
Good evening,

I am a total rookie when it comes to this. After reading and watching videos I decided to take a stab at correcting my black Camaro SS. Here is what I picked up.

Harbor Freight orange, blue and black pad
Meguiar's 105,205 and glaze #7

Initial results were dismal. I soaked the pad, did not use enough pressure and went to fast. After reading some more I went over again with better results. Or so I thought...I wiped the area down with IPA solution in preparation for the glaze. Immediately I noticed swirl mark heaven. What happened to my beautiful finish? I decided to pick up a few chemical guys products at this point. I ordered the plethora of hex logic pads and a new 5inch flex backing pad for my Harbor Freight DA polisher. After the pads arrived, I went to work with the yellow hex logic pad & 105. This worked wonders. Afterwards, I switched to the 205 and hex logic white pad. Got to where I thought I was done. Next came the IPA wipe to prep for the Black light, Jet Seal then Pete's wax. Again. SWIRL MARK HEAVEN!! I am at a stopping point. Yesterday I ordered the V line of polishes/compounds in hopes it is just the meguiars. Any one have any insight or advice for my poor Camaro?

82cdtrooper
12-11-2014, 04:24 PM

Another picture of the horrible swirls left over.

TdawgtheGreat
12-11-2014, 06:53 PM
my friend just did a paint correction on a Camaro and linked me to a post Meguiars made about Camaro paint. Apparently its a very, very hard paint. He used a Rupes 21 and it was still hard to correct. I'll try to find the post later and link it to you.

shahsmerdis
12-11-2014, 06:54 PM
What kind of towels are using?

please give us the link.

If you aren't using a brand new towel that is meant for final paint you are going to be going in circles.