PDA

View Full Version : Rupes Bigfoot 21mm throw machine polisher

Fernie
10-12-2014, 11:09 PM
I have never used a machine polisher before, and I want to start using one, so I am looking at different options. I don't want to buy the Porter Cable 7424xp because I feel like it's too much of a beginners machine polisher and I don't want to have to buy another better high end polisher once i get good at machine polishing. But I saw the video on the chemical guys website and it said you could go to LA and learn how to use this specific machine polisher. Is the rules bigfoot machine polisher really hard to use? If so why? What recommendations do you guys have?
I don't want the pc7424xp but I am open to suggestions and opinions

Thanks!

inDetail
10-13-2014, 07:29 AM
It's different. If you never machine polished before a Rupes is big difference over a PC. The large throw it has is something you have to think about when getting into tighter areas. At this point you are also limited on pads. LC makes HD pads and because of the long throw the Rupes can shorten the life span of regular pads.
If you don't want to get a PC and you have money to drop on a Rupes get a FLEX instead. The Flex has forced rotation and still is extrememly safe you can also set the speed on the dial and it has a throttle trigger so you can increase and decrease speed within the chosen speed on the dial.
For the money the Flex is the best machine out there for the money and by the end of Nov. the prices should be coming down after the introduce there new machine at SEMA.
Keep in mind you can do anything with a PC it just takes longer because of the lack of power
The only think you will need to purchase is Flex backing plates

Cal Blacksmith
10-15-2014, 01:04 PM