PDA

View Full Version : Gas Powered Leaf Blower - Car Drying

Jclorden
06-09-2014, 04:22 AM
I have a pretty good gas powered leaf blower. On a pretty popular youtube video that I recently watched, the presenter said he didn't recommend using the gas powered blowers because of the contamination that they put on the car. While I respect the presenter and follow most of his tips this one seemed a bit extreme. Perhaps I am wrong, after all I am new at this - so wanted to get others opinions.

XenaBimmer
06-09-2014, 06:45 AM
I've heard that before as well, makes sense, but not sure how much truth there is to it. I have the Jetspeed VX6 blower from Chemical Guys and love it for drying off the car.

Two3zz
06-09-2014, 07:49 AM
Meh, I'm sure people do it. I wouldn't recommend it. One of the many reasons I sent the Gardner on his way some time ago is he blew 2 stroke exhaust (oil film) on the Torino sitting the driveway then yet again at a different time on the Mercedes. No harm really, just lame I had to go behind and clean it up. I do my own yard work now. Grab up a quicky corded electric one and use it carefully, or I too have the JetSpeed and it works wonderfully!

Wed Turner
06-09-2014, 10:16 AM
I wouldn't risk it. Especially after spending hours and hours of doing a full detail with paint correction.

inDetail
06-09-2014, 04:25 PM
Don't use a gas powered leaf blower. Use electric only. Gas engine pulls air in to mix with fuel and cause combustion. It also expels exhaust that gets sucked in and blows that exhaust all over your paint.
Use electric you can pick up one that will do the job right for $25 or $30 bucks

Jayincali
06-25-2014, 10:59 AM
I concur, electric all the way. I picked one up at Home Depot for about $25 bucks, I believe it's made by Homelite, 2 speed. I use it to dry the truck as well as yard work. Dries the truck to about 95%, then I go back with a waffle weave and H7 to clean up what was left behind, usually small, fine sprinkle type of spots.